Meatless Monday: Chickpea Curry

Fast. Easy. Cheap. Yummy.  Usually you only get 2 out of 4, but this has all four!  My children eat this, we eat it, and I doubled the recipe so I could have leftovers for lunch.  And it is a nearly perfect food storage recipe!

I originally got the recipe here: http://budgetbytes.blogspot.com/2011/02/quick-curried-chick-peas-316-recipe-053.html

But I simplified it to the point where I don’t need a recipe.  Ready?

Cheap Chickpea Curry

2 Tbs Olive Oil

1 Onion, Chopped

2 14 oz Cans Chickpeas, rinsed and drained

2 14 Oz Cans Diced Tomatoes

2 6 oz cans Tomato Sauce

2 T curry Powder

2 tsp Cumin

Cooked Rice

Chop the onion, then cook in the olive oil on medium until the onions are slightly see-through.  Dump in all of the canned goods and spices, and simmer on low uncovered.  You can simmer until it’s just soupy, or until it’s really thick.  In any case, I only cook it for 15-20 minutes usually.  By this time my rice in the rice cooker is done.  We just put the two pots on the table and eat the curry over the rice.

I’ll see if I can add a picture next time I make it.  Haha, just don’t expect it to be pretty… It’s job is to taste good.  And it does!

Enjoy!

P.S. I say meatless monday, but we actually don’t eat meat at all.  http://beanland.wordpress.com/our-eating-philosophy/ has some of the great reasons we are trying to eat better, but I don’t want to talk your ear off about it… if you read this whole post, you’re obviously interested in the health benefits of cutting out meat and increasing plants… and Meatless Mondays is a great way to start!

Leave a Reply

