Dear Shelley Kids,

25 December 2013

          Thank you very much for the Christmas Cookie and Reindeer treats outside. It’s helpful to have fuel on such a long flight. My new printer in the sleigh isn’t quite as fancy as the one at the North Pole, but it does the job.

          First off, I wanted to let you know how proud I am of you all this year. You have done some amazing things under difficult circumstances- Avonlea you’ve been a good helper to your mom while Rhianna is at school in the morning, and Elinora, you’ve been a good helper in the afternoon. I’m pleased with what Rhianna and Avonlea are doing at school and how well Elinora has learned how to talk- it’s amazing! Angel has been doing very well here this year after she joined us at last Christmas and I’m looking forward to sending you another elf next year when your mom is back up and running full steam.

You mom has been growing a baby for quite a while and has been pretty sick- it’s been a good time for you to learn how to help. You’ll need to be even better helpers after the first of the year with a new baby in the house. Your new baby sister is going to need some good examples from her big sisters to help her understand this world. Will you be the good helpers she needs? I knew I could count on you.

As I have watched you and your family this past year, I have realized that you have a good family that loves you very much. You have grandparents and other family and friends who have given you so very much. You may not be able to see them, but there are many children in the world who do not have such loving family and friends. I will still come each year to deliver some small items in your stocking, but I have decided to allow your family to show you their love by presenting you with gifts on Christmas and allow you the pleasure of giving a big hug, a “Thank You!”, and by showing them through kindness and how you treat their gifts how much you love them in return.

Finally, I have also checked on your house and yard and know that your parents have a list of jobs that can be done which will help you earn money for some of the more specific things that you want. I’ve been having elves build things and have been shopping for many years now and I know what it is like to be able to go and select EXACTLY what you want for a gift that you want for yourself or others. Sometimes, there is no substitution for being able to know that you earned a precious gift fair and square with mainly your Heavenly Father to thank for the time and opportunity to earn it.

I wish you well, Shelley girls, keep being good kids. Feel free to write me in the summer when I have a little more time to read mail and respond. Thank you for all that you do to serve others and serve each other. That makes Jesus and Heavenly Father happy- and they’re really who I represent. Just like they are who you represent as you serve others. Especially you, Rhianna, as you prepare to be baptized this year. I look forward to visiting you all again next year.

 

With Love,

Santa 

Leave a Reply

